My Better Gnomes & Gardens….Twist

Being the employee at In The Beginning who has worked here the longest, it is really quite amazing to me that here, in my 21st year, I have finally tackled making a Garden Twist quilt.  I remember when Jackie Quinn made the first one. She made it using the beautiful decorator fabrics we carried in our retail store. I also remember when we introduced the beautiful Garden Twist collection of fabric, which Sharon Yenter designed for the purpose of making this quilt pattern…and others.

But until these little Gnomes arrived, I have never been inspired to make one.

Garden Twist Block

Garden Twist block

Perhaps it is the artistic sunflowers in the fabric or my northern European roots calling to me, but as soon as I received this fabric, I knew I had to make one.

Like most things I put off, I now wish I had make one years ago. It is a quilt that not only sews together very easily, it only took about 5 hours to make. I would have finished sooner if I didn’t have a directional fabric to be concerned about. And as you can see from the photo, I’m not quite finished.

Gnome Garden Twist

Gnome Garden Twist....so far

I read that the first clay German Garden Gnome (“der Gartenzwerg”) was made in Graeferoda, Thuringia, Germany in the 1800′s. Since then they have been popping up in gardens everywhere. Gnomes are considered to be more then decorations. It is good luck to place a Gnome in the home and garden. And now I have them in my quilt.  Or at least I will….with just 4 more seams to go!

Heather Dupont’s Better Gnomes and Gardens collection will soon be blooming at a quilt shop near you.  Just think of all the good luck you will receive when you bring it to your home!

~Leah

6 Comments

Filed under Fabric, Gardening, Uncategorized

6 responses to “My Better Gnomes & Gardens….Twist

  1. Gloria Brosious

    Would like to know the designer of a quilt I made. The floral fabric was Garden Twist in Pink w/blue flowers – it had a border swag print to match. The pattern was either in a book or magazine. The copy I received gave no mention to the designer. Am entering the quilt in our local show and would like to give the designer a mention.

    • Gloria Brosious

      Would like to know the designer of a quilt I made. The floral fabric was Garden Twist in Pink w/blue flowers – it had a border swag print to match. The pattern was either in a book or magazine. The copy I received gave

      no mention to the designer. Am entering the quilt in our local show and would like to give the designer a mention.

      You show the Quilt as GT Quilt 3.

    • Hi Gloria,

      You can credit the designer as: In The Beginning Fabrics.

      Hope you have a great time at your show!

      -Wendy

  2. Loretta Mellinger

    I have had the pattern for some time but now that I want to make the quilt I cannot find a store that has the fabric. Is there a way to find a store that has purchased the blue fabric recently that I could purchase. Bouquet 1GTB-2, 7GTB-2, 8GTB-2 and 3GTB-2. Thank you

    • Hi Loretta,

      These fabrics have recently been discontinued. Our warehouse does have limited stock available, and if your local quilt shop is willing to order them for you, they would be able to get a good price (while supplies last) on these prints. Please note that your SKU# 7GTB-2 has been replaced by 4GT-99 (dark blue tonal), and your SKU# 8GTB-2 has been replaced by 4GT-9 (light blue tonal). The SKU#’s 1GTB-2 and 3GTB-2 are unchanged.

      I hope this helps!

      -Wendy

  3. What a nice quilt you made !
    I hope you will have as much luck as there are Gnomes in your quilt .
    with kind regards
    Angela

Leave a Reply

