Introducing Deco

In the 1920’s a new style of art emerged from a group of Parisian artists who were part of a “society of decorator artists”.  Their influence created what we have come to know as “Art Deco”.  Although Art Deco is not necessarily symmetrical its designs are based on geometric and mathematical shapes.  As all good art styles do, Art Deco has enjoyed it ebbs and flows of popularity over the past century.  Jason Yenter’s newest collection is giving the quilting community the opportunity to have some fun with it on fabric. So here is a sneak peek at some of his wonderful new designs and colorations for anyone’s palette.

Pattern 1, color 2

This is the main print in this collection. These flowers get their design elements from combinations of many simple shapes. Doesn’t this coloration just glow on the black background? It comes in 3 others as well.

Pattern 2

This print reminds me of the Chrysler Building in New York City…but smaller, of course.

pattern 5

Even though this collection won’t be showing up in quilt shops until later this year, the purple tulips are ready to make this print shine NOW!

Take a look at our Deco collection on our web site.  We would love to hear which print or color is your favorite and what you would make with it.

Enjoy!

~Leah

12 Comments

Filed under Fabric

12 responses to “Introducing Deco

  1. Question: I printed out the free pattern and bought these gorgeous fabrics. In looking at the foundation pattern, I noticed it is only 8 1/4″ long and 4 3/8″ wide unfinished. Isn’t that too small? Shouldn’t it be 8 1/2 by 4 1/2 to finish at 8 by 4? I don’t want to cut until I’m sure.

    • Hi Marilyn,

      I’m glad you measured before cutting! Your foundation is too small, as you suspected. I just printed out the free pattern, and my foundation measured the correct size (8-1/2″ x 4-1/2″ at the outer dimensions). Are you sure that you printed the PDF at 100%? In my print dialog box, I had to select “Print Scaling: None.” My program was automatically reducing the PDF to about 97%. If your program did something similar, that would explain the wrong-sized foundation that you ended up with.

      I hope this helps!

      -Wendy

      • Thank you Wendy! My print dialogue box was more complicated (switch to Actual Size on main dialogue box, then go to Properties, then Effects, choose Letter size under Print Document On, and uncheck Scale to Fit). Mine is an HP printer. It worked! Back to cutting!! I’m so excited! By the way, I purchased these fabrics at Glad Creations in Minneapolis the day they came in.

        • Hi Marilyn,

          I’m so glad this worked, and that you can now move on to the fun part! And thank you for bringing this issue to my attention. I’ve revised the PDF to include a note about printing at 100%. The new PDF should be on our website by the end of the week, but it sounds like you’re already good to go!

          Happy sewing!

          -Wendy

  2. SkyHi Creations

    OMG!! I need some of these!! I make Native American Indian dresses and ribbon shirts and these will be beautiful as borders! I can’t wait to get my monthly disability check so I can place an order. I also teach young adults and can’t wait for them to see some of this material. I just hope I can have enough to purchase several different ones!! Thank you! Many thanks to the designer. Does anyone design with more Native American Indian designs? I would love to see how my pottery designs would look on fabric!!

  3. Voni

    These fabrics (shown) are beautiful.
    Thank you, Voni

  4. SunnyTea, Mary and Terry

    Leah, my sister Terry and I really enjoyed meeting you at Market last week. Had a great time talking with you and hope you made it through all 3 days! Jason’s new designs are spectacular! The show had so many gorgeous booths! Can’t wait to see everyone again in Houston. SunnyTea Studio, Mary and Terry

  5. Jason has out done himself again. I’m going to NEED these….

  6. hillbillytonya

    Oh man do I LOVE these!

  7. Liz O'Neill

    This is a great pattern. Your comparison to Chrysler Bldg is on the button. Now I will have to think of a pattern to make.

  8. Gayle Amato

    I love it all!!!!!

Leave a Reply

