Musings Giveaway

Nothing beats the winter and post-holiday blues like a bright and cheery piece of fabric. Our Musings fabric collection has just the prints. Prints 1 and 3 sparkle on a black background, which only makes the colors appear brighter.

pattern 1

Print 1

pattern 3

Print 3

However, Musings got its name from print number 2.  Fun and inspirational “musings” from famous women are scattered across the fabric in both directions.  A quilt with this print in it will hold anyone’s attention.

pattern 2

Print 2

My favorite quotes from this print are the ones from Mother Theresa and Phyllis Diller.  See if you can find them.  When I make a quilt with this collection, I am going to make some of the blocks with a blank spot.  My Mom will be surprised to see her famous good-bye greeting of “Toot-A-Loo” scribed onto a quilt block and my friend Katena would be touched to see her “Bye for now!” signature.

Want to join me? You can enter to win a kit of the Musings quilt kit below.

Musings Quilt

Musings Quilts

The kit contains all the fabric you need to make the quilt top and binding, and the winner will get to choose which coloration they would prefer.

To enter, go to comments on this post (not some other one!) and tell us one of your favorite quotes, either already printed on our Musings print or one you would have included. We will randomly select a winner from among the commenters. All comments received before noon, Pacific Time, on Friday, January 27th, 2012 will be eligible (one comment per person, please). Winners will be notified by email. (So please use an email address where you can be reached. Your email address won’t show up in your comment, and we won’t use your address for any other purpose. Honest!)

Good luck and check back often to read what other fellow quilters have to “muse” about! This is gonna be fun!

UPDATE: GIVEAWAY HAS NOW CLOSED. Thank you to all the commenters! The winner will be announced on Monday, January 30.

~Leah

27 Comments

Filed under Fabric, Giveaway

27 responses to “Musings Giveaway

  1. Mary Hussman

    Absolutely beautiful, as usual. Don’t think I have met an In The Beginning fabric that I didn’t love.
    I agree with Phylis – if there is even the least possibility that housework will kill me, I am not going to do it.

  2. Wendy Acker

    I like the Helen Keller quote “keep your face to the sunshine…”

  3. Pingback: Sneak Peek: Painted Summer | In The Beginning Fabrics

  4. B Hos

    “Never do things others can do and will do if there are things others cannot do or will not do.” ~Amelia Earhart

    Thank you for this chance!!!!

  5. Barbara S

    This is a wonderful thing and would really enjoy this !

  6. Mary Beth

    As I seek peace and calmness and silence amidst full family life with dear children, my current quote is “life from the center is a life of unhurried peace and power” Thomas Kelly

  7. My favorite quote is:

    “Kindness is a language which the deaf can hear and the and the blind can see” by Mark Twain

    Thank you for a chance to win!

  8. Sent you an email but just found your blog thru facebook. Yay!

  9. I would like to see “Don’t worry, Be happy” :-) My younger daughter use to say that all the time when she was a toddler.

    Thanks for the chance to win
    Kelly (at) mysimplewalk (dot) com

  10. Debra L

    I love the Dorothy Thompson Quote: Only when we are no longer afraid do we live.

  11. I love the Joyce Armor quote: Hard labor: a redundancy like “working mother.”

    Another favorite of mine is “Treat everyone as if they have a sign around their nect that says “I am special.” Mary Kay Ash

  12. Cathy Byrd

    Musing – contemplation – dreaming – day dreaming – meditation – reflection – thinking –
    Amusing – entertaining – pleasantly diverting – causing a smile or a laugh
    “I can make a five pointed star in one snip,” Betsy Ross commented to George Washington, George Ross, and Robert Morris.
    “ I am still determined to be cheerful and happy, in whatever situation I may be; for I have also learned from experience that the greater part of our happiness or misery depends upon our dispositions, and not upon our circumstances.”
    - Martha Washington
    Wise women from yesteryear! :)
    We need to encourage one another, stay pieceful, hands busy, and hearts happy.
    That one’s by me. :)
    Cathy Byrd
    byrd at gulftel.com

    “ I am still determined to be cheerful and happy, in whatever situation I may be; for I have also learned from experience that the greater part of our happiness or misery depends upon our dispositions, and not upon our circumstances.”
    - Martha Washington

  13. Make the best with what you have! I think of scrap quilts and their great beauty that has lasted beyond the makers life time.

  14. Jackie Craig

    “What lies behind us and what lies before us are tiny matters compared to what lies within us” – Ralph Waldo Emerson Love this quote

  15. Pam

    I don’t know if it’s my favorite quote, but I’ve got a new bike & I’m riding it more, and feeling like a kid.

    Every time I see an adult on a bicycle, I no longer despair for the future of the human race. -HG Wells

  16. Suzie

    It is what it is! Don’t know who said it.

  17. Gwen Windham

    A woman is like a tea bag: you cannot tell how strong she is until you put her in hot water. ~Eleanor Roosevelt — Isn’t that a great quote?! Thank you for the chance to win this fabric! LOVE it! :-)

  18. Sandy Brewer

    Only some of us learn by other people’s mistakes; the rest of us have to be the other people.

  19. mo

    “The cure for boredom is curiosity. There is no cure for curiosity.” I just love Dorothy Parker. That’s one of her relatively few G-rated quotes. ;)

    I quite like the Charlotte Bronte quote featured in the fabric too.

  20. Hueisei

    How interesting! Well, I likes this – ACT AS IF WERE I POSSIBLE TO FAIL – Dorothe Brande

  21. Lois

    Oh my, so many quotes I’ve used over the years. I really like Phylis Diller! I’m sure I will be using this fabric in some special gifts for special people, including those grandchildren that roll their eyes at gramma.

  22. Liz O'Neill

    If you obey all the rules you miss the fun.
    How true is that. And if you adventure out from the rules its your own quilt design!

  23. I love this fabric!

    I grew up hearing, “…those of you with no sin caste the first stone…”
    I was raised not to judge someone but accept them. I have tried to live that way.
    thanks so much for this fun give-a-way!
    Mary

  24. Jeri

    Let’s see if my fingers work this time…tooo busy looking at the snow fall!! Dr. Seuss

  25. Jeri

    Dr. Suess said it all! “Don’t cry because it’s over. Smile because it happened.”

  26. It’s actually my “words for the year”. Peace by Piece. To give highest priority to quilting to balance the chaos that life often brings. Love the fabric! Thanks for the giveaway.

  27. Teri Korsmo

    I collect quotations so this fabric really caught my attention! I am sure I will be adding some of Musings fabrics to my stash.

Leave a Reply

